Advisory Committee

UC MEXUS has been extraordinarily fortunate in Advisory Committee members who have distinguished themselves over the years by actively promoting the Institute's goals and extending their efforts with great generosity.

The committee meets regularly during the year to aid in setting the Institute's academic goals and evaluating its effectiveness in reaching those goals. A representative from each UC campus sits on the committee along with one non-voting representative of the UC Office of the President, and two representatives of Mexican academic institutions.

Guillermo Aguilar, PhD
Professor and Department Chair
Bourns College
Mechanical Engineering
UC Riverside
Tel (951) 827-7717
e-mail: guillermo.aguilar@ucr.edu
Manuel Calderón de la Barca Sanchez, PhD
Professor
Department of Physics - 397A Physics
UC Davis
One Shields Ave.
Davis, CA 95616-8677
Tel: (530) 554 2209
e-mail: calderon@physics.ucdavis.edu
Melissa Floca, PhD
Associate Director
Center for US-Mexican Studies
School for Internat’l Relations & Pacific Studies
University of California, San Diego
Tel: (858) 534-6066
e-mail: mfloca@ucsd.edu
Ann Hirsch, PhD
Professor
Dept of Molecular, Cell & Developmental Biology, 316 Botany
UCLA
Los Angeles, CA
Tel: (310) 206-8673
e-mail: ahirsch@ucla.edu
Rosemary A. Joyce, PhD
Professor
Anthropology Dept. - Mail Code: 3710
UC Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720
Tel: (510) 642-3392
e-mail: rajoyce@berkeley.edu
Viviana Mahieux, PhD
Associate Professor, Spanish & Portuguese
Graduate Director
School of Humanities
University of California, Irvine
Irvine, CA 92697
Tel: (949) 824-8793
e-mail: vmahieux@uci.edu
Rudy Ortiz, PhD
Associate Professor
School of Natural Sciences
5200 N. Lake Rd.
University of California, Merced
Merced, CA 95344
Tel: (209) 228-2964
e-mail: rortiz@ucmerced.edu
Carmen Portillo, PhD
Professor and Chair
Community Health Systems
Box 0608 , 2 Koret Way, Nursing 505G
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA 94143 - 0608
Tel: (415) 476-1630
e-mail: carmen.portillo@nursing.ucsf.edu
Enrico Ramirez Ruiz, PhD
Professor
Astronomy & Astrophysics Dept.
1156 High Street,
Mail Stop: UCO / Lick
UC Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz, CA 95064
Tel: (831) 459-3400
e-mail: raruiz@ucsc.edu
Gabriela Soto Laveaga, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of History
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9410
Tel: (805) 893-4304
e-mail: gsotolaveaga@history.ucsb.edu
Carlos Muñoz Piña, PhD
Coordinador de Investigaciones Económicas
Centro Mario Molina
Prolongación Paseo de los Laureles N.458
Despacho 406
Colonia Bosques de las Lomas
Delegación Cuajimalpa de Morelos
México, D.F. C.P. 05120
Tel: 011 (52-55) 9177-1670 ext. 213
e-mail: cmunoz@centromariomolina.org
Móvil:  +(52-1-55) 5217-4831
Gabriela Vargas Cetina, PhD
Professor
Facultad de Ciencias Antropológicas
Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán
Carretera a Tizimín Km 1
Mérida, Yucatán 97305, Mexico
Tel: 011 (52) 999-930-0090; 52-999-987-7910
Email: gvargascetina@mac.com
Updated on 02/10/2016